Ch-ch-ch-changes

Still don’t know what I was waiting for…

Oh, Bowie.

Lovely friends and readers, an announcement: She Who Sleeps as you know it now is coming to an end.

Okay, it’s not as bad as it sounds. I promise.

I’ve been thinking for a while that I want to come at the blogging thing a different way and this site and WordPress in general don’t really lend themselves to that. This has always been a personal blog, so it’s a place to write about personal things and musings. But, the thing is, this is starting to feel repetitive and not very interesting. And if I feel that way, most of you almost certainly do.

The other piece is that WordPress just…isn’t where it’s at anymore.It’s still great for websites, but not for blogs. We’re all just a lot less visible here now.  And as with Livejournal before it, it’s time for me to move on.

So we’re going to try something different.

Actually a couple different things.

First and foremost, my goal is to finally get off my ass and make myself  a goddamn author/editor website. So writing updates and announcements will go there. I will post the URL here when there’s something to see.

Secondly, I’ll still be blogging, just with less frequency and over at Medium. It’ll be more of a short-essay style rather than a personal blog and on more of a weekly or biweekly basis. I..e, I’m not going to be trying to write anything when I don’t feel like I have something to say. And it’ll give me more time to polish what I do put out there.

I may also do something really radical, like occasionally use my Tumblr as a blog. (She said, and laughed.)

But, for a while at least, I will keep track of everything I do here. So Medium posts will be linked, project updates will happen on occasion, etc. In other words, I’m not lighting a match and throwing it behind me. I’m just trying to get myself out of the funk of doing the same shit for too long.

If you want to keep up with my day-to-day adventures, Twitter is always the best bet.

And sincerely: thank you all for following along over the years. I truly appreciate it.

Lotsa love,

Julia

 

Leave a Reply

