Misjudgments and returns

And we’re back!

Not a planned hiatus by any stretch, but August was kind of a dreadful month. Very good on some days, but mostly a dull blur.

They can’t all be winners, I suppose.

It’s pretty much my own fault, too. You know when your brain and body are sending you signals that you need a rest? That you should take it easy?

Usually a good idea to listen to those signals. Self-care, self-care, self-care, right?

Except I didn’t. Some of that was circumstantial, but it was also me. I thought it wasn’t a big deal.

A lot of it was just not getting enough sleep and being kind of wound up in the weeks previous, which is hard on the immune system, and then not giving myself any time to rebound. And that is how you end up with a virus. Sometimes you end up with two viruses. (Well, one was a relapse, but I’m counting it.)

And then you can’t do much except sleep and drink a ton of tea and wait to get well again.

(I did watch the Olympics. More on that soon.)

That’s what I’ve been doing the last few weeks. Not having the energy to do much of anything, which is depressing on top of everything else. So I’ve been sad. And grumpy. Because honestly, who likes being sick?

I mean, I missed two baseball games. And a play. A play, you guys. And baseball.

On top of that, lately there have been some challenging personal life type things that don’t belong in blogs. Suffice it to say, I’ve been in kind of a weird place and I’m only just now leaving.

In some respects, September is about getting back to it. But it’s also about doing things a little differently. Taking better care. Making better choices. And focusing on what I need.

And getting out of my damn house. Tomorrow I’m going somewhere and doing something for the first time in about three weeks. Thank zombie!Jesus.

But yeah, blogging will happen again, not every day but a few times a week at least. Other projects will also resume and I’ll talk about them in due course. This is mostly just say, yup, we’re back.

What have you all been up to?

Leave a Reply

