Ghostbusters!

I started to look at the news today and had a huge moment of noooooope.

Most days I am not a stick-my-head-in-the-sand sort of person. Most days I recognize how important is to be engaged.

I did not have it in me today. I will confront the awful realities of our world tomorrow. I know I will so I only feel moderately guilty.

Today I went to see the new Ghostbusters.

It was pretty much exactly what I wanted it to be. Plenty of loving allusions to the original but a new plot and new characters. Lady humor. Lady scientists. Over-the-top graphics and effects. Ridiculous tech.

I think the general objections to the way Patty was written are fair but it is impossible not love Leslie Jones unless you’re some kind of monster. So I adored Patty. It seemed by midway through the movie, they were breaking out of stereotype, too, so I hope if there’s ever more they continue that process. That she cared about her fellow Ghostbusters and vice versa seemed really crucial in that.

Like everyone else on the Internet, I am madly in love with Jillian Holtzmann. Kate McKinnon (along with Jones and Cecily Strong, who also had a part) has long been one of the few pleasures of watching the current Saturday Night Live cast. I am thrilled they let her own the brilliantly bizarre Holtzmann–she completely stole the movie.

Ditto to the hilarious Chris Hemsworth, who clearly embraced the opportunity to do something different for a change.

I’ve heard that it’s one of the rare movies that’s even better in 3D, so I might check it out while it’s still in theaters. Which is nothing against our absurdly affordable theater here. (I mean, guys, my movie ticket was $4.25. Yeah, be jealous.)

Anyway, it was great, exactly what I needed, and I recommend it. We’ll say nothing about the complaining happening in the annoying corners of the Internet because Safety lights are for dudes.

Leave a Reply

