Further Study

First post of the month written on my phone! (I’m not quite ready to sit at a computer this morning.)

21 or so months ago, when I decided my life didn’t need to look like everyone else’s with a 9-5 at an office, one of the pieces I wanted to figure out was the next step on my academic aspirations.

It’s no secret to anyone who knows me–or most readers of this blog–that I want my PhD.

My first round of applications didn’t go that well, it’s true. Two years later, I’m not terribly upset. Yes, by now I’d be preparing for comps and my dissertation but I would also have missed on out on some unique experiences.

And there’s a fair chance I wouldn’t be happy about where I was living and the politics of academia. In fact, I would probably be quite grumpy about those things.

I’ve come to a pretty solid conclusion that the programs for me are hybrid-distance programs. 

Yeah, I get that there’s still a stigma. And that it’s more expensive. (I do need to figure out how I’m going to pay for it.) But at this point, it just makes the most sense for me. 

Plus the two programs I like best are both distance programs. At the end of the day, I’ve realized that the areas of study that would make me most happy are 1) Gothic Literature and 2) New Media. I have found one program I like in each that suits my preferences.

I haven’t decided whether I’ll apply for the 2017 or 2018 school year, but I have my targets. I know what I want to study in each field and have a good sense of my intended dissertation topics.

Yes, choosing only two programs runs counter to all the common wisdom about applications. But you know what? At this point, I really don’t care.

If you went back to school today, what would you want to study? 

4 thoughts on “Further Study

Leave a Reply

