A Fine

I’m at the beginning stages of a few projects now, so it’s a bit strange to think or write about one ending, but it is.

Yesterday, I put the finishing touches on my Master’s Essay. I’m not adding or changing anything else. (Okay, I might have one more footnote to write, but that’s it.)

Rereading it, I felt pretty content. Of course, there are parts I like more than others and more that I wanted to say. But for the scope of this project, in this iteration, it really is done. Today I’m going to spot-check it, make sure my citations are in order, and send it off to the printers.

I think I’ve said before that this hasn’t been an onerous process at all. Sure, certain aspects of academic bureaucracy always annoy me. But the writing and the discussion? That’s been really fun.

Not that the chapter is quite closed on this one. After all, I have to defend this thing at the end of the month. Which means rereading both texts, making notes, anticipating questions… I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous.

But I’m going to get through it. I have a few tricks up my sleeve for keeping myself happy for that hour. And this is hardly my first rodeo. More than that, though, I’m confident in the work I’ve done. Not that what I’ve said is irrefutable, because that’s really not how literary analysis works. Just that I’ve spent the time, thought things through, and made my case.

Which is really all I can ask of myself for any project–that I did my best.

 

Leave a Reply

