Day Two

Don’t worry–these won’t all be called “Day Three,” etc. No, I actually want to talk about the reality of day two, of any day two.

You set a goal for yourself. You’re excited about it. Maybe you’re doing NaNoWriMo and you’ve decided to write 1750 words every day for a month. Maybe you’re decided to read 150 books this year. Maybe you’ve taken up knitting, pottery, gardening, beatboxing etc.

The point is, yes, getting started can be tough. But I think the tougher thing is always the second day.

On the first day, you’re into it. You’re excited; you’re confident. You’re not tired. You’re not sore (she wrote, definitely feeling her yoga). You’re not discouraged.

You might not feel that way the second day. Maybe the first day didn’t go well. Or maybe it did, but there’s a part of you that would be content to ride that high. Didn’t I do awesome yesterday? So what if today doesn’t go quite as well?

But you have to forget yesterday, because yesterday doesn’t actually matter anymore–whether you succeeded or failed is irrelevant.

The thing is, most days are day two. Most of the time, you have to convince yourself to stick with whatever project you’ve taken up. Most days, that snooze button looks really friendly. Most days, you remember that projects are hard, that establishing habits takes time and effort, and that Netflix is really convenient.

Just before I got out of bed this morning, I was thinking about day two. And I did give myself the benefit of a bit more sleep, I’ll admit (I’m still adjusting). But then I started my day. And so far so good.

Leave a Reply

