2015

It seems a bit silly to do a roundup post for the year since you all read about everything I do from week to week. But I suppose a little reflection never hurts.

2015 was a bizarre year by any standard, with extreme highs and lows and more than probably the fair amount of stress and emotional turmoil (lookin’ at you, long-departed Sweet Briar administration).

I learned the hard parts about freelancing and had my share of frustrations on the job market. I watched the world around me suffer tragedy after tragedy, but I also saw people come awake (and come together) regarding the vast inequalities in our country–and don’t get me wrong, I learned plenty, too.

It was a great year for new things, including teaching my first solo college course and working for a new social media startup and volunteering with an excellent service organization and playing Dungeons & Dragons for the first time.

I wrote reviews and essays about books and movies and a certain awful undead television show.

I got to travel, which is always an excellent mark of a year well spent, including to New Orleans and a pretty brilliant adventure in Kentucky of all places.

As usual, I went to waaaay too many (18) baseball games, saw three Shakespeare plays, including the rarely performed Titus Andronicus, and attended my first women’s soccer match after livetweeting the Women’s World Cup.

I’ve talked about my reading, which was revelatory, and the book club I started with one of my favorite people, which was great fun. Among my favorite books I read this year were: Get in Trouble by Kelly Link, the Temeraire series by Naomi Novik, Fledgling and Kindred by Octavia Butler, I Have Always Lived in the Castle and The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson, I am Princess X by Cherie Priest, The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. LeGuin, and The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin.

My two favorite movies of the year were Mad Max: Fury Road and Selma, which couldn’t be more different save for the fact they were both incredibly necessary.

It wasn’t the happiest year, but I think it was a meaningful year. I hope 2016 can be more positive and just as meaningful.

How would you sum up 2015?

Leave a Reply

