The Art of Getting Unstuck, Pt. 2

So yeah, inertia. I think part of regaining momentum–aside from figuring out what’s not working–is coming at projects a different way. Overcommitted? Scale it back. Need more deadlines? Establish some accountability. Not enjoying the work? Try a new subject or a new medium.

Blogging has been something of a challenge for me since March. The reasons for this are diverse–and I’ve already covered a number of them here. But my interest is no longer why I’m not blogging. It’s how to get blogging again. The plan is two-fold: 1) creating more reasonable expectations and 2) exploring different formats for each project.

At the moment, this is how things are looking:

She Who Sleeps will consist of 1-2 posts per week on Tuesdays and Thursdays with a monthly writing roundup. I’m hoping to write more about ethical considerations and continuing studies, as well as my ongoing projects. I’ve also signed up for an account on Medium. I’m not abandoning WordPress, but I’m interested in trying out another blogging site. Most posts will probably end up crossposted; otherwise, everything will still be in the monthly roundup on the final Friday of each month.

Meanwhile, The Girl Who Loved Zombies is moving to Tumblr.  Weekly theory posts/reviews will still show up on the WordPress site every Wednesday, starting September 2. But it’s occurred to me that the sharing aspect of the blog (probably 75% of my posts) is in fact better suited to Tumblr. So I’m trying it out.

Honestly, I’m still working to figure out what to do with Dead White Guys (there might be some livetweeting and more gifs in its future), but for the moment posts will continue on a weekly basis every Monday, starting September 7. Our next book is Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton.

Seven by Twenty has been going strong and its blog will once again feature weekly editorial updates every Friday, starting August 28. We’re also doing three theme months for the end of 2015. You can find the details here. (Please send your work and share the call for submissions!)

As I said in my last post, I’m continuing with VProud. Conversations will continue to appear on the monthly roundup here on She Who Sleeps, as will any applicable freelancing projects.

For something completely different, on Thursdays you can also check out the Starfish Foundation blog, which I help manage. Plus, we have a brand new Tumblr! And please consider giving Starfish a look in general. I still love volunteering with them and they’ve really been a source of great inspiration the last nine months or so.

Also, I’m officially announcing 800s Plus, the monthly book club I share with my friend K. (We now have a Goodreads page!) Each month, we read a new book which furthers our understanding of what does or does not make something literature, particularly in respect to genre, and then discuss it live on Twitter. Our next discussion is August 30.

And I’m finally kicking off my Channillo serial, Waite Community Announcements (from a neighboring dimension) as of September 1. Community Announcements consists of a series of “found” fragments from Waite College, the sister school to H.P. Lovecraft’s infamous Miskatonic University.  At minimum, serial updates will appear on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays each week. Channillo requires a subscription, but you can preview the series on the site and memberships start out at a reasonable $4.99/mo.

Last but not least, for the next six weeks I’m excited to say I’ll also be writing weekly recaps of AMC’s new spinoff series, Fear the Walking Dead on TV Lust for The Baltimore Sun. You can read the first one here.

I think–I hope?–that’s it. I have a few things on the back burner–details as they come to fruition. I’m including the new posting information in the About section of each blog. Plus, I’ll link all of my sites in the sidebar here. And if all else fails and you’re interested in keeping up, check back here for monthly roundups for a list of posts and published works!

What are you up to? Do you need a fresh approach?

Leave a Reply

