It’s 2015!

Happy New Year, readers!

The holiday season has finally, finally ended, and I must admit, it’s kind of a relief. Not because it wasn’t fun–I had an incredible 16 days of visits with friends and family. But I’m ready to return to regular day-to-day life and some much-needed introvert recharge time (my socialization batteries are completely zapped).

Today is no plodding Monday for me, however, because 2015 is full of exciting opportunities and projects and general awesomeness. There’s so much I want to accomplish and do this year that one blog post can’t begin to cover it. But I’ll try to hit the high points:

Work. Yes, the job search continues but I’m far from demoralized. I’ve gotten excellent feedback and no small amount of encouragement from many of my applications. And after all, I’m looking for something quite specific; it’s worth being patient. The right position(s) are out there and I’m going to keep pitching and applying until we find each other.

Writing. 2013 and 2014 weren’t terribly prolific years for me and I aim to change that. I’ve got a big, big project in mind for 2015. It’s so ambitious I can’t blog about it right at the start, but suffice it to say, it involves a lot of writing. Perhaps if the first few months go well, I’ll be able to talk about it without sounding completely insane. Perhaps… That said, writing is only half of the undertaking–there’s also revision and submission. My personal goal is a minimum of 10 submissions per month or 120 this year (don’t worry: simultaneous submissions are very much part of the plan).

Blogging. I’ve managed to maintain productivity the last couple months and I’d like to continue that. 7 posts a week on my regular blogs and guest blogging whenever and wherever I can manage it. 2015 is going to be all about the content, let me tell you.

Study. This, too, is about continuing and maintaining steady progress. Coursera. Duolingo. Banjo. Yoga. Code academy. But I’m also adding: doing weekly Euclidean proofs, reading more academic journals, learning more about potential PhD programs, possibly submitting a paper, and attending a conference.

Volunteering. At the moment, I have three volunteer positions, including one for which I just significantly increased my responsibilities, I’m excited to say. However, I would like to add another commitment or two…or three. Probably two? This year I would especially love to slush read for a publication (I miss it!) and–as all my current commitments are online–do something in my local community, either dealing with poverty or environmental issues. Next year: campaign volunteering.

Activism. Certainly related to the above, but more specific in some respects. My intention is, as always, to pay attention, to speak up when I should and listen when I shouldn’t, and keep pushing in whatever way I can for equality, global mindfulness, and ethical living. It’s hard to have a specific goal in mind, because the problems are so huge, but my current plan is to educate myself more every week, have thoughtful conversations whenever possible, support activist organizations, and attend relevant events when I have the opportunity.

Reading. I read 62 books in 2014, which included class reading from my graduate program. This year, I’m returning to my usual goal of 100 books, which is much more doable sans Aristotle. In addition to rereading favorites like Frankenstein and The Iliad, I very much want to add diversity to my reading list. I want to read more international writers, more LGBTQ writers, more ethnic and religious minority writers, and more writers with disabilities. Additionally, I’m aiming for a 50/50 balance between male and female writers. I should try to read more nonfiction and poetry, too, but we’ll see how that goes. As always, I’ll blog about my reading list throughout the year. Recommendations appreciated!

Travel. I have some big trips I’m in the planning stages for in 2015. I’ll tell you more about them as they take shape, but at the moment (pending funding) there should be both domestic and international adventures. At the moment, I can say I am definitely going to a concert in a cave in Kentucky.Plus, I’m hoping to visit my friends up and down the east coast throughout the year.  I’m also hoping to do a lot of local exploration, especially as the weather gets warmer.

Play. Yes, projects are well and good, but having fun is also incredibly important. Currently, I’m working on establishing two gaming groups with friends: one in-person tabletop group and one online RPG group. I’m also thinking about a book club. (How does one start a book club?) And there is always less structured fun: festivals, baseball games, theater, concerts (in caves and otherwise), movies, and evenings with friends.

Relaxation. Given how crazed the above probably sounds, this is probably all the more important. (I promise it’s not that crazed…I’m just really, really excited.) Yoga falls into this category, too, because it’s that awesome. So do hiking and swimming–living by the water is a glorious things, my friends–and reading. I’ve never tried meditation, but maybe I will this year. New experiences are always worthy, even if we don’t take them up.

As you can see, these are less resolutions and more like blueprints. There’s a lot to do. And I can’t wait.

(tl;dr: 2015! Stuff! Goals! Yay!)

What are your plans for the New Year? How will you address any or all of the above? 

6 thoughts on “It’s 2015!

  1. omg so many things!

    I stole my sister’s GRE book and physics 101 book because I need to relearn these things this year. Also back on the learn-Spanish goal.

    • Yay, GRE! It was definitely easier the second time (although I also switched test editions, I think).

      I’ve been admiring your Duolingo progress. Gotta get on that.

  2. She Who Sleeps? I think you’ll need to change that to She Who Never Sleeps, Julia, in order to get all this done! But seriously, those are some great goals. I hope you reach them all! :- D

Leave a Reply

