January is Coming

I know, I know: it’s only December 8. But what month moves faster than December? It’ll be New Year’s Eve before we know it. Better get started on your resolutions now.

Like many (in the Northern Hemisphere), I don’t regard January with much enthusiasm. In fact, January and February are my two least favorite months — February has worse weather, but is also closer to spring. January is, of course, the yawning vacant space after the holidays.

This year, January feels ominous for another reason: it’s a big benchmark month for me. January is when I’m really going to take a look around at all this and decide if it’s working. So it might mean a return to traditional job searching. A move to a new city.  A new apartment. A lot of things.

This isn’t inherently negative, of course. I’ll have the opportunity to have new experiences and make new friends. Maybe be closer to some old ones. Anything could happen. Which is scary, yes, but also potentially exciting.

I have liked the last few months, though. I like the projects I’ve taken on. I like pitching ideas and investigating remote employment. There are some really fantastic opportunities in this sphere. I like the realm of possibilities here. I think this approach could work for me, but it’s still in its initial stages. I won’t necessarily be giving it up come January if I decide to change tactics. But it would be significantly diminished.

The solution, of course, is to keep working hard. To get applications and proposals out there. To keep writing. And to make an honest assessment when the time comes. But in the meantime, I’ll be making the most of all this.

Of course, this does beg the question: what would you like to see on the blog in the next few weeks? There are a lot of possibilities. We could talk about Christmas and sustainability. One-off volunteering. Netiquette during the holidays. Writing during the holidays. The ethics of gift giving. Books as gifts. Books in general. Or some unrelated topics to take your mind off the Yuletide insanity. Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

