2012: A Year in Reading

Happy New Year everyone!

I had a fantastic but busy holiday season — as illustrated by the marked lack of blog posts. But I’m guessing most of you were too busy to read them anyway. So, let’s get back to it, shall we?

I always feel a little odd writing Year in Review/Resolution posts. I mean, every year has its ups and downs. And don’t we all want every new year to be a bit better?

Therefore I’ve decided to revisit 2012 solely in my favorite way. Books!

Last year was a pretty solid year for reading. It got off to a slow start due to thesis-ing and moving, but I still managed to read 52 books, or about a book each week. I won’t list them all here, but have some highlights.

Couldn’t Wait for the Paperback: Zone One by Colson Whitehead; Son by Lois Lowry; This Book Is Full of Spiders: Seriously, Dude, Don’t Touch It by David Wong*.

Unexpected Pleasures: Familiar by J. Robert Lennon*; Southern Gods by John Horner Jacobs; Cataclysm Baby by Matt Bell.

Been Meaning to Read Them: The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter; The Wind Done Gone by Alice Randall; The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti.

Beloved Rereads: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley; The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman; To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

Pure Fun: Johannes Cabal: The Fear Institute by Jonathan L. Howard; Red Rain by R.L. Stine*; Drawing Blood by Poppy Z. Brite.

All in all, it was a great list. Very few duds. And I think I managed a good mix of writers, genres, and eras. I also did a good bit more rereading than I usually do, which turned out to be a fantastic idea.

This year, I’m hoping to expand my list. Because I’ll be commuting to work and school (more on that soon), I’ll have a good chunk of time every day to spend on audiobooks. So my goal is to read one book every week and listen to a second book every week. I’m also hoping to add more international writers, nonfiction, and poetry to my list.

What did you read last year? What are your reading goals for 2013?

*Coming soon: I’m doing mini reviews of these books on my other blog: the girl who loved zombies.

Leave a Reply

