Cooking with Julia: Adventures in Fall Food

Since buying my in-season vegetables, I’ve had a few adventures in fall cooking.

Positives: (1) Because cool weather vegetables are hardier, many of them last longer in your fridge.

(2) They’re also generally more filling and one specimen can go a long way. E.g. Your average sweet potato is enough for at least two servings, often three.

(3) They are high in dietary fiber and essential vitamins.

Negatives: (1) Fall vegetables fight back.

Seriously, in attacking the cauliflower and sweet potatoes I purchased last week, I almost lost the battle. Mind you, I don’t have the best cutlery at my disposal, but still!*

(2) And of course, the very properties that make fall vegetables long-lasting mean that they also take longer to cook, which does use up more energy. And if you’re wanting a quick meal when you get home, you might be out of luck with root vegetables and squash.

Of course, none of the above keeps them from being absolutely delicious, especially if you’re willing to experiment.

On Monday, I baked 1/3 of my cauliflower with garlic and some olive oil, two medium potatoes, and some seitan (soy product most closely resembling chicken). Simple, but pretty good.

Yesterday, I tried this recipe:

1 sweet potato, peeled and chopped

1 red apple, sliced

1 yellow onion, sliced

1/3 can of Northern White Beans (chicken or pork would work, for you carnivores)

2 tbs. olive oil

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. sea salt

I tossed the veggies in the olive oil, cinnamon, and sea salt mixture, wrapped 3 individual portions in 8×11 sheets of aluminum foil and baked them for about 30 minutes at 400 degrees.

If you’re not vegan, this was particularly tasty with grated swiss cheese. Had one round of leftovers for lunch today and it was just as good reheated.

During my experiments with entrees, I’ve also made about 4 qts of apple sauce. It hasn’t really made a dent in my apple stores…

*Note, for particularly tough squash, some recipes recommend microwaving to soften before prep.

3 thoughts on “Cooking with Julia: Adventures in Fall Food

Leave a Reply

