The Iceman Cometh

It dipped below 50 degrees for the first time last night and I came to a both pleasant and unpleasant realization: winter is on its way.

I’m personally a fan of cooler weather. I love autumn and spring especially. My ideal temperature is between 60 and 70 degrees. Leaves changing, fresh apples, hot tea and coffee — these are wonderful things.

Once we get to 40 degrees and lower, though, life gets a little more challenging. Now, I don’t have as much control over my heating as I did my cooling. The landlady turns on the heat for the house (I think it’s gas? I’ll have to check) and charges each the tenant based on apartment size. There are five of us living here. My percentage of the bill is 18%.

I am still going to do my best to keep my use reasonable. This includes dressing for the season — even indoors. I’m not going to go around bundled up in a parka, but sweatshirts, slippers, flannel are all good wardrobe decisions for at home. My logic is that I’ll be less likely to overheat my apartment if I’m comfortable.

Another thing I’m going to keep an eye on is my hot water use. It’s easy to take shorter, cooler showers in the summer, but once it gets cold that warm water gets very appealing. I think one solution to this is to shower during a warmer time of day, if possible. And since I shower in the morning, I’m going to find ways to warm up before I get under the water. Get my blood going. Maybe jumping jacks.

For those of you who are homeowners, now is a good time to make sure your house is properly sealed against the weather. The more your house leaks heat, the more you’ll have to pay in the long run.

Tomorrow: cooking with Julia!

3 thoughts on “The Iceman Cometh

  1. 🙂 I like to make sure my bathroom is warmer than the other rooms before i take a shower. This might include leaving the bathroom door closed a while before showering, leaving the fan off during the shower, or just dropping my clothes in front of the door so no cold air leaks in. Then I won’t feel so cold when I get in or out of the shower, and the steam can keep my apartment more humid once I do open the door.

    This is not an every-shower practice, but I do like hot showers in the winter. 😀

  2. Hot showers are wonderful! It was so chilly taking a shower this morning – cooler than when I took my shower on Tuesday (I was home all day yesterday and not that gross anyways so the only one’s I could have potentially grossed out in order of most time spent with: Me, Greg, the 4 police men that dropped by. Luckily I was at least wearing shorts and a t-shirt by then rather than still in my pjs.)

    The only way I can think to save on hot water is to turn the water off while soaping up (soap up completely) then turn the water on to rinse. Same goes for shaving (facial if you have it – men and legs if you shave in the winter -ladies). The other thing would be to not shave during the winter that would help save on hot water…

    And while this suggestion is more of a summer related suggestion (that requires having a shower tub rather than just a shower) but I feel like it might not be bad for winter either. Use biodegradable soap/shampoo that way you can save the water and use it for watering houseplants (or outdoor plants, hence why it’s more of a summer suggestion – because it’s especially good for drought times or water conservation in general).

Leave a Reply

