Cooking with Julia: Ratatouille

No, my parents didn’t name me after Julia Child. Or John Lennon’s mother (I get that one a lot).

At the beginning of the week, I grabbed this recipe for ratatouille from Simple Dollar (great blog to read if you don’t) and tried it out for myself. The simplest version of ratatouille is a pretty much stewed vegetables, whatever you have on hand. So, I took whatever produce I had left from my previous round of shopping and tossed it in:

2 yellow onions (organic)

1 large eggplant (local produce)

2 zucchini (local produce)

1/3 can of chickpeas

3 celery stalks (organic)

1.5 large green peppers (local produce)

4 garlic cloves

basil (local produce)

This didn’t make for the most colorful ratatouille. I should have had yellow squash and tomatoes, too, but hey. This was a very easy dish to make. I don’t mind slow-cooking foods because I can do other things while I’m waiting like blog or read. Plus they make my apartment smell delicious.

Vegetable prep always makes a mess of the counter.

The 4 qt. pot is full, guys! (That never happens.)

Moreover, despite being constructed mostly of what I had leftover from a week and a half of cooking, the ratatouille lasted me for five meals: three dinners and two lunches. It’s excellent with pasta and I imagine it’d be well matched with mashed or oven roasted potatoes. I deliberately added the chickpeas so there would be some protein, but if you’re an omnivore, you could easily pair it with grilled chicken or some other easy meat dish. As a repeated side dish, it would probably last you even longer. It kept really well and since it’s pretty versatile, I wasn’t sick of it by the end of the week.

Of course, if you’re more into variety on a day-to-day basis , you could freeze it in meal-sized portions and enjoy the ratatouille over a longer period of time.

Next time I’m going to talk about toilet paper. No, really.

One thought on “Cooking with Julia: Ratatouille

  1. I hadn’t read ur post when I made my ratatouille, but ❤

    It's definitely an easy dish! And full of a great variety of veggies – mine did in fact include a large tomato and a small can of tomato sauce, which did a good job of adding flavor.

    We ate it by itself with bread the first night, and with pasta when it was leftover.

Leave a Reply

